Home / Tech / News (page 20)

News

Tech news from around the world.

Best Gaming Mouse for 2019 (WIRED Tested, Wireless, Cheap)

What Makes a Good Gaming Mouse? There’s more to it than RGB lighting There are a couple features that really separate a gaming mouse from just are regular-old-came-with-my-PC kind of mouse. Gaming mice should have more sensitive optical sensors that can detect smaller movements more quickly than a standard mouse. …

Read More »

When Tech Moguls Act Like Galactic Overlords

The protagonist of Max Gladstone’s new novel Empress of Forever is Vivian Liao, a tech mogul in the vein of Steve Jobs or Elon Musk. As the story opens, Liao is working to oppose the misuse of big data by a dystopian near-future government. “I think Viv really despises the …

Read More »

Space Photos of the Week: Sun Spotting

It’s rare to see an extreme close-up of our Sun, but this photo gives us the chance to stare. This part of the Sun is called the chromosphere, the second of the star’s three layers. You can see the dark sunspots, along with a skinny filament and lighter regions that …

Read More »

Ikea goes all in on smart home tech

Ikea is formalizing what has recently become all too obvious: the company is making a major bet on smart home tech as a source of new revenue. To do this, Ikea announced that it will invest heavily in a new “Ikea Home smart” business unit with end-to-end responsibility for its …

Read More »

VW's ID Buggy Is an Electric Dune Dominator

In the race toward electrification, some car companies are more motivated than others. Take Volkswagen: Still reeling from the fallout of its Dieselgate scandal, the German giant’s various arms are announcing, developing, and trying to sell EVs at a dizzying pace, from Audi’s E-Tron SUV to Porsche’s Taycan, to a …

Read More »