Home / Tech / News / Watch Industrial Light & Magic's VR team discuss the immersive future of Star Wars

Watch Industrial Light & Magic's VR team discuss the immersive future of Star Wars

Lucasfilm has pushed Star Wars far beyond just movies and novelizations, and today at Star Wars Celebration the team at Industrial Light & Magic’s xLab will be discussing how they’re using virtual reality and augmented reality to create tools and immersive experience unlike anything seen before.

The panel starts at 1:00PM ET / 10:00AM PT, part of a day of streaming programming from the annual convention. Director Dave Filoni will discuss the newest season of Star Wars Rebels starting at 11:00AM ET / 8:00AM PT, and the team from Marvel will then cover their work on Star Wars comics before ILM takes over. Then at 2:00PM ET / 11:00AM PT it will be time for games, as the creators of Star Wars: Battlefront, The Old Republic, and other upcoming EA titles will be revealing some of their plans.

We first visited ILM’s xLab team last August, just as they were coming out of stealth mode. At the time, they were able to unveil a tablet-based video experience, a speeder bike VR demo, and a fully immersive stage called “The Cave” that felt like an early precursor to the Holodeck. Less than a year later, the team has already shown off several new experiences, including a 360-degree video Force Awakens tie-in called Jakku Spy, and a demo of a VR lightsaber battle called Trials on Tatooine. With xLab working hand-in-hand with the writers and filmmakers behind the new films, there’s room for a staggering amount of collaboration — and hopefully we’ll hear more about it during today’s panel.


Source link

Check Also

Revel’s mopeds are a fun ride around Brooklyn and Queens

The electric motor scooters came at dawn. Slowly, at first, but then truckful after truckful. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.